Jerusalem Archaeological Park
The Political Status of Jerusalem

With the Muslim capture of Jerusalem, a new religious era had begun, and from now on the city ceased to be considered eternally Christian. The Muslim rulers observed the basic Byzantine division of Palestine: Palaestina Prima, which included the coastal region, Judea and Samaria, and Palaestine Secunda, which included the Galilee and the Jordan Valley; Jerusalem was naturally part of the first region. Caesarea, the Byzantine administrative capital, was replaced during the Umayyad period at first by Lod and then by Ramla, which was founded in 715-717 CE. Jerusalem was designated as district capital, under the jurisdiction of Ramla.
Back to top